Schlocktoberfest 2K16 Day 23: Alien Abduction Incident In Lake County (1998)

Alien Abduction Incident In Lake County
With a title card like that I wonder if the aliens were cooking meth with Jesse and Walter White?

Synopsis: After a mysterious blackout, a son goes out to investigate and captures footage of actual aliens. When the aliens follow him and his brothers back to their home, all hell breaks loose.

Presented around the same time when the X-Files was the hottest show on television Alien Abduction: Incident In Lake County brought a lot to the table in terms of delivering a creepy little sci-fi feature. It tends to throw every alien/UFO cliche at viewers from cattle mutilations to ray guns to exploring the missing time paradox. Like so many other found footage movies the acting is fairly atrocious but than again when it involves spur of the moment dialogue a majority of actors will just end up using improv as their best friend. The production unfortunately suffers from horrible pacing due to the fact that even though there are a lot of weird things happening the director couldn’t make the film itself more interesting even if he had E.T. stop on by with an entire 30 pack of Coors. At the time it premiered Alien Abduction: Incident In Lake County definitely was a hot topic between people trying to decide whether it was authentic or a complete hoax. I didn’t see it when it initially aired on UPN but if I had I would have known right away that it was a hoax considering a young Emmanuelle Chriqui (who starred in an episode Nickelodeon’s Are You Afraid of the Dark? before this and more recently went on be featured in the show Entourage) was one of the family members ‘abducted’.  Not to mention when both the aliens are listed in the closing credits you tend to wonder why they have human names. I guess even in Hollywood it’s the best way to get noticed and hopefully find future work.

The build up to the big reveal is downright laughable as the VHS version I’ve seen has family members sitting at the dining room table eating turkey when all of a sudden a couple little green men come in and abduct everyone while the kid who was filming the night’s festivities is literally having a conniption fit. From what I’ve read the original television ending was a lot more satisfying as the teenager gave a sort of last will and testament knowing he probably wouldn’t make it through the night. He then pans around to catch a glimpse of an alien coming right at him and the tape freezes. The family as a whole are rather annoying and once weird occurrences start happening the group of females ask one another what is going on outside while the males decide to pack some heat and go out and check the perimeter while trying to get to their truck so that way they can get everyone to safety.  Of course any logical form of thinking doesn’t happen and quite honestly I actually wonder if the MacPhearson family was struck by a stupidity ray the aliens had secretly stashed aboard their ship. If I had the unfortunate opportunity of being a member of this family I’d be making sure all doors and windows were locked, no one would be let in or out, and rest assured I’d be designing a tin foil hat as soon as I caught wind of an alien invasion. If all else failed I’d then try to appeal to our alien friends by inviting them in for a nice turkey dinner (since it is Thanksgiving after all) I’d even offer to fire up the grill and cook some mutilated cow burgers from the remains of the poor bovine they killed earlier in the movie. (I actually have an out of this world BBQ sauce recipe that would knock their little alien socks off).

Final Grade: C-

The original UPN presentation of Alien Abduction finally surfaced on Youtube some five years back. Compared to the full 82 minute VHS release the UPN version runs only 45 minutes and has interviews with various UFO and extraterrestrial experts (something I had no idea was included but definitely adds more dramatic effect to the overall presentation). If you’re interested in giving it a watch you can check it out below:

3 thoughts on “Schlocktoberfest 2K16 Day 23: Alien Abduction Incident In Lake County (1998)”

  1. I haven’t seen this, but I loved the 1989 original U.F.O. Abduction. From what I’ve read, a bootleg version of that one wound up in the U.F.O. community and was shown at at least one conference as “proof” of extraterrestrial contact. It became known as the “McPherson Tape” even though the family’s name is Van Heese in the movie, which makes me laugh.

    Paranormal stuff always scares me the most. Whenever I want to freak myself out, I get under a blanket and bring up paranormal news sites and alien abduction forums on my phone.

    1. I’ve been meaning to track down a copy of the original U.F.O. Abduction since its considered miles better than UPN remake. I don’t get why they just didn’t compensate Dean Alioto for using footage from U.F.O. Abduction instead considering from what I’ve heard the results were far more convincing.

      Oh yeah there used to be a phase I went through during my high school years where I’d come home and spend hours on paranormal/unknown message boards. Still have Unsolved Mysteries UFOs 4 disc set that I break out from time to time and more recently I came across a VHS rip of Sightings – The UFO Report that made the hairs on my arms nostalgically stand up on end – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPO9TcQQhyY

      1. I don’t think I’ve seen that one. Thanks for the link. Gotta love those sensationalist 90s specials they ran all the time back then.

        I believe I watched U.F.O. Abduction on Vimeo. Maybe Daily Motion. It’s probably been taken down by now, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

